Grilled Meatloaf. Yes, I Said Grilled Meatloaf.

new wfmwSince this week’s WFMW is about summer food, I thought I’d link back to this recipe that I posted a few weeks ago, since this just screams summer to me. This is the recipe that made me believe that I could love meatloaf…I had not eaten it for years until my parents convinced me to try this, and it totally won me over. It’s a little bit of a process, but totally worth it! It’s the perfect dinner for having company over in the summertime.

meatloaf finished

Grilled Meatloaf
3 lb ground beef
2 tsp broiled steak seasoning
1 c ketchup
1 ½ c Ritz cracker crumbs (or just crush one sleeve of Ritz – it’s really close)
2 eggs
3 tsp garlic salt
pepper
1 green pepper, cut into rings
1 large onion, thinly sliced rings
Bacon slices (I use 12)

Mix the first 6 ingredients (it’s easiest if you mix the beef in last) thoroughly until firm. Using a rectangular grill basket sprayed with Pam, cover the bottom with slices of bacon; top bacon with sliced onion. Place meatloaf on top of onion, pressing it evenly to all corners of basket. Lay thinly sliced green pepper rings on top of meatloaf. Top again with bacon slices. Secure cover on basket, all the way down to the top of the meatloaf. Grill about 20 minutes on each side or until done to taste. The grill cover should be used during the entire cooking time. It feeds 6-8.

For more great summer recipes, go to We Are THAT Family.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sara luke
    May 22, 2009 @ 19:09:49

    Ok, I think I need to see photos of how this is done. I’m not sure how to put the meat in the basket. Does it crumble out as it cooks?

    Reply

    • Nicole
      May 22, 2009 @ 20:08:22

      Well, with the bacon and layer of onions on the bottom of the grill basket, you get a pretty good base to set the meat on. The consistency of the meatloaf keeps it stuck together pretty well, but as you form it in the basket, try to push any pieces that come through the side wires back onto the loaf. Remarkably, it all stays together pretty well since you cover the top part with pepper rings and bacon. Make sure when you close the basket that you lower the top piece down onto the meat so it’s packed in tight. When we make this I’ll take pictures!

      Reply

  2. Amy
    Jul 01, 2009 @ 09:51:31

    We have a new grill and I have been threatening to grill everything in sight…. but I hadn’t thought of grilling meatloaf!

    I posted a super-easy Strawberry Pie recipe for WFMW today… it’s one of my favorites!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Birthday Recap « Here’s the Diehl
  4. Mandy
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 15:32:11

    Okay…I’ve been waiting for these pictures. I tried this recipe last week and really liked. My brother, Adam, says he “hates’ meatloaf, but I convinced him to try it and he’s a believer! He loved it!

    But, we had one minor problem. The grease from the bacon dripped a bunch and made my grill flare up and the bacon burned. I noticed in your pictures that your bacon didn’t burn. Thoughts?

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Happy Birthday Dad! « The Krazy Kleines…
  6. Heather
    Aug 07, 2010 @ 11:40:15

    Making this tonight to eat with Morrison’s!! Mmm. My mouth is watering just thinking about it!!

    Reply

  7. Douglas
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 13:52:57

    Do you cook this direct or indirect and at what temp.

    Reply

    • Nicole
      Feb 22, 2011 @ 15:10:55

      You set the basket directly on the grill, and I’m sure that my husband cooks this over medium/medium-high heat for 20 minutes per side.

      Reply

  8. Douglas
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 17:25:31

    Thank you so much for your response. Do you grill it with or without the cookie sheet

    Reply

  9. Douglas
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 12:05:08

    Grilled it last night and it turned out really good. I live in the southwest and eat rather hot food. When mixing the hamburger I’m going to try some choptle seasoning to kick it up.

    Reply

    • Nicole
      Feb 26, 2011 @ 19:26:24

      Glad you liked it! And I LOVE the idea of mixing in some chipotle…yum! We’ll have to try that this spring. Hopefully only a couple more weeks and we’ll be able to fire up the grill!

      Reply

  10. Nina Jensen
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 12:30:21

    I seen your meat loaf recipe on the grill!! It looks amazing. Where would I find such a pan like you put your meat loaf in.

    Reply

  11. LIz
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 12:21:43

    Where did you find the basket- I have been hunting everywhere

    Reply

Leave a comment