Crockpot Philly Chicken Sandwiches

Another Pinterest-inspired winner for our family! I’ve made this several times since finding it last spring. I usually make a double batch in the crockpot and freeze it in 2-3 portions for meals on a busy baseball-game night.

Original here; my main change from the original is the seasoning because I didn’t know what Dale’s Steak Seasoning was. The original poster updated her recipe with info on it in case you want to try it: it’s a sauce found near BBQ, etc in the grocery, not a dry seasoning as I assumed it was.

So here goes!

1 large sweet onion, sliced
1 large green pepper, sliced
8 oz sliced mushrooms
4 chicken breasts, whole (sometimes they’re even partially frozen and that’s fine)
Weber’s Chicago Steak Seasoning (but for the love, don’t buy this online – it’s usually on sale for about a buck at our grocery stores)
Granulated garlic
Sliced cheese (provolone, swiss, mozzarella)
Hoagie rolls

Spray your crockpot with non-stick spray, and put a couple of pats of butter in the bottom of it. Put in the vegetables, and sprinkle in some of the seasonings. Then layer the chicken on top, and cover with seasonings. I’m sure I use at least a Tbl of the Chicago Steak seasoning, but it is peppery so take it easy if you don’t love pepper. I just use about a tsp total of the garlic powder. You can always salt this later if it’s not salty enough for you!

Because our boys eat these sandwiches REALLY well without the vegetables, I keep the chicken on top the whole time it’s cooking. Then, I can easily just lift out the chicken, SHRED IT, and keep the vegetables for Matt’s and my sandwiches.

I cook this on low for probably 6 hours.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue Cornell
    Aug 22, 2013 @ 19:41:55

    Nicole – I made these sandwiches tonight and they were delicious…..and so easy to make!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

