Breakfast Casserole on a Weekday?

{tapping the mike…is this thing on?}

I’m back! I have several recipes to share that I hope to get to over the next few weeks.

I’ve mentioned here before that my oldest, Luke, LOVES a hot breakfast. I’m pretty sure it’s his love language.

With our 7:15am out-the-door time, there’s no way he’s getting a freshly-made hot breakfast. It just isn’t going to happen. So sometimes, I make these breakfast pockets in an afternoon, and freeze a whole ton of them for him to eat his way through. While good, those are time-consuming to make, so I started trying to think of an alternative, and gave this a try.

**If you’re just making this for your family, know that you can make it up to 12 hours in advance and keep in the fridge, and then just bake in the morning (or, for brinner, if you’re me).

I’m sure this will work on any breakfast casserole; just follow the freezer instructions at the end.

1 lb Jimmy Dean sausage (regular)
10 eggs, lightly beaten
3 cups milk
2 teaspoons dry mustard
1 teaspoon salt
6 cups bread cubes
2 cups sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 cup mushroom, sliced (optional)
1 medium tomato, seeded and chopped (optional)
1/2 cup green onion, thin-sliced (optional)

Preheat oven to 325°F.
In a large skillet, cook sausage over medium-high heat, stirring frequently until throughly cooked and no longer pink.
In a large mixing bowl, combine eggs, milk, mustard and salt; stir well.
Distribute half of the bread evenly in a buttered 9 by 13×2-inch baking dish. Sprinkle with half the pepper, half the cheese, half the sausage and half of the optional ingredients.
Repeat layering using remaining bread, pepper, cheese, sausage and optional ingredients.
Pour egg mixture evenly over casserole; Bake uncovered for 55 to 60 minutes, or until eggs are set; tent with release foil if top begins to brown to quickly.

Let it cool in the pan enough to be able to handle the pieces. Put a sheet of parchment paper or a silpat on a cookie sheet.
Cut casserole into 12 servings. Set each square on the pan, and place in the freezer.
When frozen solid, remove from pan and put in a ziploc bag. Put back in freezer.

On a weekday, stick one in the microwave for about a minute, and you’ll have a hot breakfast!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sara T
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 10:16:48

    I make this all the time – leaving out the optional ingredients (of course! ;-)) and always a hit with my kids. A gal at work got me started on it about 5 years ago – love it!! Thanks for the freezing tips – never thought about doing that – may have to make some up to freeze before Baby 4 gets here!! Thanks!!

    Reply

    • Nicole
      Jan 07, 2013 @ 22:23:26

      absolutely! I’m glad you’ve already made this and love it…it’s always good to hear it’s a hit in someone else’s house too!

      Reply

  2. littlestjoy
    Jan 30, 2013 @ 15:48:01

    I will have to try this:). Another idea that Brian and I do is we make muffin omelets!! On Sunday, we heat up some sausage, cut it up. In a mug, I mix an egg, 2 sausage, and done pepper. Then pour it in a muffin tin. I make 4 muffins for me. Brian takes up the other right that are on the pan. He mixes a sausage, egg, some hash browns, and pepper. Once the muffin pan is full I bake at 350 for 20 min. I then check it. It usually needs another 5-10 minutes. Once cooked and cooled, I put in Tupperware. We then take what we want for breakfast that morning and heat it up in the microwave. Idea came from Pinterest by the way:)

    Reply

  3. Shelley
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 18:55:02

    Wow, great way to make something that is not the same thing. Been making b-fast for four guys each morning and easy way for me to make ham or sausage, egg, cheese, toasted bread. They say come up with something else that you can do fast and easy. :} I cant wait to hear what they are going to say. thank you also to littlestjoy my girl friend keeps telling me to look on Pinterest. Time 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

