Tuscan Lemon Chicken

This is a great, simple marinade that I used on the 4th of July. It comes from The Barefoot Contessa via Food Network’s website, and I’ve only made a couple of small changes.

I used only chicken breast instead of a whole chicken, as she calls for in the original. I used probably 2 1/2-3 lbs of chicken and there was plenty of marinade. Apparently it’s better if you let it sit overnight in the fridge, but I only had about 6 hours and it was still really good!

3 lbs. chicken, flattened
Kosher salt
1/3 cup olive oil
2 teaspoons grated lemon zest (2 lemons)
1/3 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 tablespoon minced garlic (3 cloves)
1 tablespoon minced fresh rosemary leaves – I didn’t have fresh, so I used just a small sprinkle of dried rosemary
Freshly ground black pepper

Sprinkle the chicken with 1 teaspoon salt on each side. Combine the olive oil, lemon zest, lemon juice, garlic, rosemary, and 2 teaspoons pepper in a small measuring cup. Place the chicken in a ceramic or glass dish just large enough to hold it flat. Pour the lemon marinade over the chicken, turning it in the dish. Cover the dish with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 4 hours or overnight. Turn the chicken 2 or 3 times while marinating.

Grill until done in the middle. Remove the chicken to a plate or cutting board, cover with aluminum foil, and allow to rest for 5 minutes.

Enjoy!

We had a bunch of leftovers, which I planned on. I sliced the remaining chicken breast and put it in the freezer, where I can pull out however much I need for a salad or wrap. We’ll definitely do this again!

Leave a comment