Easy Chicken Taco Soup

OK, you know how Sonya’s Skinny Chicken recipe is so delicious and easy and can feed an army? Or, if you’re just feeding your own family, how it leaves lots of yummy leftovers?

Well, last night, I used leftover Skinny Chicken to make a quick, easy Taco Soup that I’ll be making again for sure. I just made this for Matt and me because it was one of those nights when baseball practice meant we weren’t all home at dinnertime, etc. so Matt and I ate later than the kids. It’s fine anyway, because they all hate soup and I didn’t have the energy to fight them on it last night.

So here’s what I did, and feel free to adjust as needed based on how much you have leftover:

5(ish) cups leftover skinny chicken (this was a lot of the broth that’s left in the crockpot + some of the shredded chicken)
about 2 cooked, chopped chicken breasts (leftover from dinner the night before – I just threw it in so it wouldn’t go to waste, but it’s not necessary if you have plenty of chicken leftover in the salsa mixture)
3 sliced green onions
16 oz. chicken broth (you can use a can or bouillion or whatever you want)
half a bag of frozen, fire-roasted corn (regular frozen corn would be fine, too, but I had this kind from Trader Joe’s and it’s just perfect for soups like this)
beans (I didn’t add them this time, but that would have been really good)

Just heat it on the stovetop until hot. That’s it! This amount made about 5 or 6 good-size bowls of soup.

I served it with a cheese quesadilla. In the soup you can add crushed tortilla chips, avocado, diced tomato, sour cream, cilantro…whatever you like!

Leave a Reply

