Avocado Chicken Salad

This was one of those pins that I couldn’t wait to try!

And it didn’t disappoint. I’m really partial to my own chicken salad recipe as far as homemade goes, so I’m always reluctant to try a new one BUT because of the avocado, I gave this a try. Yum!

The original is here, and I’ve made a couplr of changes to make it the perfect mashup between Chipotle’s guacamole and chicken salad.

Here’s how I did it, along with approximate quantities:

~3 1/2 cups of shredded chicken (rotisserie or use this trick)
1 1/2 regular-sized avocados
3 Tbl light Hellmann’s mayo (really go easy on this…you can always add a little more if needed)
2 Tbl-ish of chopped red onion
cilantro, to taste
juice of one-half a lime, or maybe a bit more
salt/pepper to taste – using rotisserie chicken meant I didn’t need to salt this, really, but it did need pepper

Mix everything in a bowl, simple as that. Serve with crackers or make sandwiches.

About 1/8 of this recipe = approximately 185 calories.

i can't wait until there is still sunlight coming through my windows at dinnertime, so my pictures with my crappy camera are less crappy.

 

Enjoy!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Nana Jo
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 21:36:03

    It does sound & look good. I think I’d like it . . . even though you know I love your mom’s recipe the very best!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

