7Up Biscuits

By now, most of you have probably seen/tried these because they’ve been all over Pinterest forever. I’ve made them numerous times, and I know Sonya has, too. They’re simply the best, easiest biscuit can you make at home. Big thanks to Plain Chicken for posting the recipe!

And I feel like I’ve let you down for not sharing these on here earlier…my apologies, dear readers, if you haven’t seen these until now and I’ve been keeping them from you!

You’ll notice in the picture on the original post linked above that she actually makes hers look like biscuits. I don’t bother…they’re gone so fast it doesn’t matter what shape they are. If we had company, maybe I’d try a little harder…

2 cups Bisquick (I use the Heart-Healthy kind, like it’s really any better)
1/2 cup sour cream (I’ve used both full-fat and light, and haven’t noticed a difference)
1/2 cup 7-up, Sprite or Sierra Mist (DO NOT use diet…in fact, you’re not supposed to bake with diet soda ever)
1/4 cup melted butter

Preheat oven to 450.

Cut sour cream into Bisquick and add 7-Up. Makes a very soft dough. You can add a bit more Bisquick if needed to make them less sticky, but be careful not to overdo it, or they’ll get tough.

Sprinkle additional Bisquick on board or table and pat dough out. If you want, cut dough into circles. If you don’t care, just use a knife to cut the dough into large pieces.

Melt 1/4 cup butter in a 9 inch square pan. Place cut biscuits in pan and bake for 12-15 minutes or until golden brown. These also freeze well!

Here’s what they look like going in the oven:

yes, i know it looks like one big mound of dough, but they actually are separate pieces all shoved in there together.

And coming out:

perfectly browned and they bake evenly all the way through with no problem, even though the pan is really full.

even though they look in the pan like they aren't separate biscuits, they come apart easily after they're baked.

I DARE YOU to eat just one of these.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nonna Sharon
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 14:21:39

    Never heard of these before, but will definitely try them. Thanks for posting!

    Reply

  2. sistersara
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 07:33:19

    I tried these and i don’t know what i did wrong – but i ended up just dropping spoonfuls of the dough straight to the baking sheet and they did not come out looking like yours at all – they were kind of soft and my family was not impressed – i thought they tasted good – just looked weird. I will have to give it another shot.

    Reply

  3. Polly Broyles
    Jul 09, 2013 @ 19:43:01

    I have made these several times and they are always a hit BUT I always have used 0 calorie diet 7 up and never had a problem with them. So what is wrong if I use that kind of 7 up?

    Reply

  4. april
    Nov 02, 2013 @ 05:42:19

    MAJOR hit with the whole family.. grandbabies love them with chocolate gravy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

