Chopped: A Diehl Family Experiment

Our kids LOVE the Food Network show “Chopped.” Almost as much as Matt and I do, I think.

One night at dinner, Matt proposed that each person except me could make a list of 3 basket ingredients that I have to cook with for dinner one night.

This sounded fun, so I agreed, and made up a little form for everyone to fill out with their 3 ingredients. Matt apparently decided he gets 4, because he turned his form in with an extra. Whatever.

So obviously, it won’t be all that much like Chopped. No time limit for me (to which the boys groaned…I was like, “Are you for real? Do you want this to be edible or not?”), and I know the 3 basket ingredients beforehand, and I’ll only be making one dish a night from their basket ingredients (so this will be 4 nights of meals where I cook with their picks). But, because I’m preparing these meals for relatively picky palates, I’m going to need the time to think and do some research. I will try to plate the food nicely so that presentation is taken into consideration by my four judges.

And speaking of judges: they asked if they can “chop” me. I said, “Yeah, sure, but then you have to cook your own food.” So. I’m thinking that I won’t officially get chopped from this competition.

I think this is going to be fun! I’ll blog about our four meals, whether they end up being something I’d make again or not, just because I want to remember this experience.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nana Jo
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 14:46:07

    So fun!! Can’t WAIT to hear what they come up w/ for ingredients!!

    Reply

  2. Sandy
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 17:16:51

    So cute! We love foodnetwork!!! Can’t wait to hear how these turned out and what the ingredients were!

    Reply

  3. Jan
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 17:26:10

    This is such a neat, fun idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

