No-Bake Energy Bites

Holy cow.  So good and so so easy.  And, really, quite good for you.  All three kids ate these!  They are a great snack to have on hand.  I will be making these regularly!  I did make some changes so my recipe is below (only because I despise coconut…if you like it click the link for original recipe).  Thank you, once again, pinterest.  Original here.

1 and 1/2 cup oatmeal
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/3 cup agave nectar
1/2 cup ground flaxseed
3/4 cup mini chocolate chips
1 tsp vanilla

Mix everything in a bowl.  Let chill in refrigerator for about an hour.  Once chilled, roll into balls and enjoy.  Store in tupperware and keep refrigerated.

I added extra oatmeal and chocolate chips to make up for the missing coconut.  After I made them, I read in the comments that some substituted crushed cheerios for the coconut.  I’m definitely doing this next time!  They formed into balls easily in the beginning but by the end my hands were a mess!  I think adding crushed cheerios would help with this.  So, I’ll cut the oatmeal back down to a cup.  Original calls for 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips, but I may keep that at 3/4 cup.  It didn’t feel like too much to me! 🙂

This makes about 20, and I’m not kidding when I say we have about 5 left from yesterday.  Yummy!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sara
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 14:32:27

    Energy bites? I’m going to hold you to this . . .

    Reply

  2. Nicole
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 16:45:07

    I’ve had these pinned forever and need to make them! Glad you liked them!

    Reply

  3. kirksonya
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 10:12:54

    Sara – I don’t think anything can give you enough energy when you are up in the middle of the night EVERY night, BUT think it in your head and it will work a little bit 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

