Rolo Cookies

Seriously, pinterest is amazing.  At least for all the recipes I’ve found.  These are SO good and SO easy.  A great one to do with the kids!

Rolos
Devils food cake mix
2 eggs
1/3 cup oil
powdered sugar

Mix together the cake mix with the oil and eggs.  Cover rolo with cake mix, just enough to cover the rolo.  Bake on a GREASED cookie sheet for about 8 minutes at 350.  I let my cookies sit on the pan another couple of minutes after taking them out of the oven.  Sprinkle with powdered sugar.  Seriously, SO SO good.

*The first batch out of the oven, I didn’t let them sit and transferred right to a cookie rack.  The caramel started oozing onto paper towels below the cookie rack.  Letting them sit for a couple of minutes before transferring prevented this from happening!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. illinigirl
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 21:44:21

    Question. . . ~how many cookies does this make? Just don’t wanna be way off on the number of rolos I buy! 😉

    Reply

  2. Nana Jo
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 16:34:00

    Sonya, is there a trick to working w/ this dough? I first tried to wrap a rolo as soon as I was done mixing the batter, but it was so sticky, there was no way. So I tried chilling it for maybe 45 min & tried it again. For one or two rolos, it helped, but almost immediately it was just as sticky as before! Do I just need to chill the dough longer? Help!

    Reply

  3. kirksonya
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 15:09:36

    Oh gosh, sorry girls! I’m just seeing these comments. I had bought a huge bag of rolos because I also made those little treats with the pretzel, rolo, peanut m&m….but one small bag of rolos would be enough.

    Jo – no trick really. I didn’t chill the dough at all. I’m not sure on the stickiness?!? I noticed it being greasy (from the vegetable oil I assume). It may have been a little sticky but I don’t remember that being a huge issue. Sorry I’m no help! I do always use canola oil versus vegetable oil but I don’t think that would make that much of a difference.

    Reply

    • Nicole
      Jan 03, 2012 @ 15:27:27

      Sonya, what brand of cake mix did you use?

      Reply

    • Nana Jo
      Jan 03, 2012 @ 16:50:21

      No problem, Sonya! I did use canola oil. Nicole wondered if maybe I used a cake mix that contributed to the stickiness (I couldn’t remember what I used, but I think it was just a basic devil’s food, nothing “deluxe”). Anyway, I just chilled the dough for several hrs. It was still not real fun to work w/, but I got them done, and they were delicious!

      Reply

  4. kirksonya
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 10:48:32

    Nicole – I have NO idea. My guess would be betty crocker b/c I tend to mostly buy that brand. I know it had box tops b/c I remember the kids wanting it for school 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

