Pesto chicken stuffed shells

I found this recipe on my new obsession, pinterest.  I’ll be honest, I thought this was good.  Kirk thought is was great.  I, personally, like the other chicken pesto recipe on here a little better.  But, since Kirk liked this better, I thought I would save it here and still make it on occasion because I did like it.  The kids, not at all.  Ugh.

12-16 jumbo pasta shells
4 oz cream cheese, softened
1 cup freshly grated parmesan + 1/4 cup for topping
3 tablespoons prepared pesto
2 cups shredded cooked chicken
2 cloves garlic, minced

In a large pot, boil water and prepare pasta shells as directed on package.  Cook pasta shells only until al dente.  The pasta will finish cooking when the dish is baked.  Drain the pasta shells and set aside.

In a large bowl, combine the rest of the ingredients, except the 1/4 cup of cheese for the topping.  Fill the pasta shells with the filling and place in a baking dish.  Sprinkle with the remaining cheese over filled shells.

Preheat oven to 350 and bake shells uncovered for 30 minutes or until shells are bubbling hot and cheese melts.

2 things I do love about this dish….

1. I made it in a 9×9 so there wasn’t a TON of leftovers.  I can only do leftovers for one meal, can’t do the same meal a third time.  Yuck.

2. You can make this ahead/freeze it.  To freeze prepare as directed in oven and freezer proof baking dish.  When ready to eat, defrost.  Preheat oven to 350 and bake for 35-40 minutes.  Because of this, I will probably double the recipe next time and make an extra meal!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 18:12:55

    Glad that you tried it out 🙂 I pinned this on my new obsession 🙂 a few weeks ago….bought all the necessary ingredients but ended up using them in different dishes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

