Chicken Fajita Orzo

First, I must warn you: there was much gagging by the Diehl children when I served this. Wailing and gnashing of teeth, too. It was not a favorite.

But I’m posting here because Matt and I did like it. I modified a bit from the original in an attempt to get my kids to eat it, but it didn’t work. However, we liked it this way, so here it is!

1 lb orzo (I used more like 10 oz, I think)
1 Tbs olive oil
4 chicken breasts, cut into strips
1 large bell pepper, diced (or you can slice it for a more “fajita” look – however, I KNEW that would go over bad, so I though mincing might make it ok. I was wrong.)
1 large onion, diced or sliced thin
Salsa, probably about 16 oz, whatever you like
shredded cheddar
sour cream and cilantro (optional)

Prepare orzo according to box directions. Drain, and set aside.

As you start the water boiling for the orzo, heat oil in skillet and add chicken. Cook for a few minutes over medium heat, and then add peppers and onions. Cook until done.

Toss orzo with chicken mixture and salsa in the skillet. Sprinkle cheddar over the top.

Serve with sour cream and cilantro, if desired. We were out of cilantro but we did use sour cream, and we loved it! The leftovers today for lunch were pretty tasty as well.

Leave a Reply

