Smashed Meatball Sandwiches

A while back I made a GIANT batch of these meatballs (I’m talking 3+ pounds), taking some to a friend and making extra to stick in the freezer.

After I rolled about a million meatballs, but before I started stuffing them with cheese, I thought about cooking some up for sandwiches. And a round meatball on a sandwich + a kid = huge mess, so I got the idea to smash them down a bit.

So here’s how it all goes:

1 lb. lean ground beef (or turkey or chicken)
1/2 cup Italian seasoned dry bread crumbs (I use Panko)
1 egg
spaghetti sauce
rolls
cheese slices

Mix the first 3 ingredients together well and roll into a dozen or so meatballs.

Put in a non-stick skillet…no need for oil or anything, even with extra lean ground beef (with ground turkey or chicken you will probably need just a little bit to keep them from sticking). Let them cook over medium heat for a few minutes as a whole meatball, and just before flipping them over, smash them down a little. Flip, cook through, and remove from heat. Heat some spaghetti sauce and pour over the meatballs (if you just put the sauce in the pan you’ve just used, it’s going to pop and splatter a lot, so be ready for a mess if you go that route).

Serve on rolls – whatever you prefer, but they are best when toasted on a griddle for a few minutes – and add a slice of provolone or mozzarella.

Because I froze these and was making an original batch of the meatballs for us, too, I used some of the sauce from that pan to put over the smashed meatballs and froze them that way.

These were really good…Luke devoured, and the other 2 ate moderately well, especially when I described them more as tiny burgers instead of meatballs!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Sep 24, 2011 @ 09:49:53

    I’ve made meatball sandwiches for the boys in the past – they loved them!!! I’ll have to try this recipe. I LOVE the fact that you ‘describe’ your meals to your children differently as well 🙂 You say what you have to say to get the to eat!….anything green is ‘seasoning’

    Reply

Leave a Reply

