Mini Lasagna Cups

When I spied these floating around Pinterest, I knew I had to try them!

Original here (lots o’ great recipes on this site!). I made a few small changes, noted here in the recipe.

1 lb lean ground beef
1 lb sausage
1 jar of spaghetti sauce (I like Ragu Sweet Tomato and Basil)
1/2 – 3/4 cup pureed carrots (I didn’t do this, but I will next time…it will be undetectable)
1 1/2 cups part skim ricotta cheese OR cottage cheese (next time I’m using cottage cheese)
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
24 wonton wrappers
1 1/2 cups shredded cheese (I used shredded Italian blend)
3 slices provolone cheese (optional – you can just use shredded on both layers, but I’m obsessed with provolone and always have it in the house, so I used some in the first layer)

Preheat oven to 375.

Brown the meat together in a pan and drain well. Mix in the jar of spaghetti sauce, and divide into 3 portions. Freeze 2 of the portions for dinner another night.

In a large bowl, combine the ricotta or cottage cheese with the salt and pepper.

Coat a 12 cup muffin tin with cooking spray (I like to use a Misto with olive oil), and arrange a wonton wrapper in each cup. Take half the ricotta mixture and divide it among the 12 cups. Top with half of the meat sauce, and a 1/4 of a slice of provolone cheese. Place another wonton wrapper over the cheese, and repeat the layers by adding the remaining ricotta cheese, meat sauce, and top with shredded cheese (because I used provolone on the first layer, I only used about 3/4 cup on the top of these).

Bake at 375 degrees for 10 to 15 minutes until the cheese is melted and the wonton wrappers are golden. Cool in the muffin tin for 5-10 minutes before serving.

Makes 12 mini lasagnas.

The kids each ate one; surprisingly, Bennett, our best eater, wasn’t a big fan. Jack Henry did ok, and Luke devoured his but didn’t ask for more. And we still had 4 leftover, which will make a great lunch for Matt and me tomorrow! I really liked this. Much simpler than a pan of lasagna, and just kinda different and fun. We’ll be making them again!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mandy
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 19:34:06

    I make something similar to this…sausage wonton wrappers. I use a mini muffin pan and use a mixture of sausage, ranch dressing, and shredded cheese. The big boys in the family usually add hot sauce of some sort. Makes for a great appetizer. I’ll have to try your recipe sometime…sounds good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

