Strawberry-Kiwi Jam

I found this recipe in my taste of home magazine.  My grandma makes awesome strawberry jam, but we just aren’t there enough to get it!  So, I knew I needed to try this recipe as my kids and hubby love that jelly.  Kayla and Kirk have both tried this and loved it.  This does have a TON of sugar in it, but I did follow the recipe to the exact measurements.

6 cups fresh strawberries (cut up – most I just cut in half)
3 chopped kiwi fruit
1 tblspn lemon juice
1 tblspn chopped crystallized ginger
1 pkg powdered fruit pectin
5 cups sugar

The recipe says to mash the strawberries with the kiwi fruit.  I ran it through our food processor.  Then, combine that in a dutch oven with the lemon juice, ginger(again I chopped in the food processor), and fruit pectin.  Bring to a full roiling boil, stirring constantly.  Stir in sugar and return to a full boil.  Boil 1 minute, stirring constantly.  Remove from heat; skim off foam.  Ladle into freezer containers and cool to room temperature.  Let stand for 24 hours.  Refrigerate for up to 3 weeks or freeze up to 12 months.

**Next up – blueberry jam.  Follow the same above except use 8 cups blueberries, 2 tblspn lemon juice and no ginger.  Add 7 cups sugar.

*** The strawberry jam said it made 5 cups.  I actually was able to fill 7  jelly jars (8oz).

Leave a Reply

