Cheddar-Chive Turnovers

I saw this in my Food Network magazine and had to give it a try with chives from my garden on my deck! (I’m growing garlic chives and they are delicious!)

Here it is, with a couple of slight changes:

1 package of refrigerated biscuits (the simplest, cheapest kind…Pillsbury sells them in 4-packs, but you can get the Schnucks brand 1 can at a time, so that’s what I did)
2 Tbl butter
pinch of cayenne pepper (not more…I used a bit too much)
~1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
chopped chives (which you can buy at the store in the produce dept, I think, if you don’t have any, or you could use dried chives) – I probably cut about 6 and then just cut them with a scissors into tiny pieces

Mix melted butter with cayenne. Lay out rounds of refrigerated biscuit dough on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet (this saves you a lot of mess), and press them to spread them out a bit. Brush with the butter; top with shredded cheddar and chopped chives. Fold into half-moons and crimp with a fork to seal, then brush with more butter. Bake as the label directs (for me, it was 400 degrees for about 11 minutes).

i crimped the edges with a fork, but it wasn't completely sealed, and that's ok.

finished product!

Leave a Reply

