Purple Pancakes

Pardon the lack of posting…I’ve not been cooking much for the past month, due to a crazy schedule and the etsy store opening. Sonya is busy growing a baby and preparing for her arrival soon, so she’s busier than normal, too!

Matt wasn’t going to be home for dinner, so I decided it would be pancake night (he’s not a fan), since the boys all devour them. Not often content to just make normal pancakes, I decided to mix in a bunch of stuff and see how they came out. The inspiration was the bag of blueberries I just found in the freezer from last summer’s trip to Michigan. Surprisingly, they weren’t freezer burnt!

No exact measurements here, but you’ll do fine!

Get out your blender. Put the following things in it:
~3/4 cup of vanilla yogurt (I always have Dannon Natural Vanilla here – you could use plain or blueberry, too)
~1 1/2-2 cups of blueberries (it’s ok if they’re a little frozen still)
a few squirts of honey or agave nectar* (I used the agave nectar)

Blend until smooth.

Add in the following:
a few tablespoons of ground flaxseed or wheat germ (I used some of both b/c I was almost out of flaxseed)
~2 cups of complete pancake mix
water (start with 1/2-3/4 cup and add more as needed to thin the batter

Cook on a hot griddle! You want the batter fairly thin, or if it’s too thick, use a rubber spatula to spread out the batter a bit on the griddle right after you pour it on there. For the purpose of getting buy-in from my two older boys who I was afraid would flinch at blueberry pancakes, I added a few mini-chocolate chips.

Verdict: delicious. I’m not a fan of the texture of traditional blueberry pancakes, so blending them up was perfect for me!

It made a ton – probably 16+ 8-9″ pancakes, though I lost count.

*agave nectar is thinner than honey and also sweeter – to me, it’s more like a pure sugar sweetener than honey. You can buy it at any grocery or SuperWalmart. It’s great mixed into a cup of tea, also.

Leave a Reply

