Mostaccioli

So, I don’t make this all that often because, 1. It makes a TON and 2. it is sort of time consuming.  BUT, it’s great for a big gathering and gets great reviews every time I make it.  It’s usually a hit for family birthday parties, big family gatherings, etc.

2 lbs lean ground beef
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 garlic clove, minced (I’m lazy and use the already minced garlic in a jar)
28 oz diced tomatoes (I think I usually use the petite cut diced tomatoes)
24 oz can tomato sauce
6 oz can tomato paste
1 tsp salt
2 tsp basil
1 and 1/2 tsp oregano
1/2 lb pepperoni, thinly sliced
1 1b box mostaccioli noodles
1 and 1/2 lbs mozzarella cheese
1/2 lb sliced mushrooms

In a skillet, brown the beef, onion and garlic; drain off all excess grease.  In a large pot, put meat mixture, diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, tomato paste, salt, basil and oregano.  Simmer for 1 and 1/2 hours. (**I know I do not simmer quite this long because I get impatient.  Really, I should just start putting everything together earlier!)  Add pepperoni and mushrooms to tomato mixture.  Cook for 30 minutes.  Cook noodles to desired texture.  Mix the noodles with the tomato mixture.  Spray and 11 x 15 baking dish with cooking spray.  Alternate the mixture in the baking dish with the cheese.  Bake, covered, for 45 minutes at 350; uncovered for an additional 15 minutes.

***I thought of this recipe for a couple of reasons.  One, I’m starting to try and think of great meals to make ahead of time because I have baby #4 coming in just 9 short weeks.  I’m thinking this could be a good freezer meal, thought I haven’t tried it before.  Two, I’m thinking this might be a good one to put in a 9 x 13 for another family and then make a much smaller dish with what’s left for us if I need to do that in the future.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Melinda K
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 10:35:50

    Sonya I am making this tonight- thank goodness your recipe calls for mozzarella…I have a huge aversion to provel!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

