French Toast

Ok, so I’m sure most of you have a recipe for french toast that you love.  We do.  However, recently I purchased the most delicious bread for making french toast from Trader Joe’s.  I would have never thought of it if they weren’t marketing it as great for that use.  But, it makes ours so much more amazing.  Challah bread.  It’s a must for french toast in this family now.  And, I’m going to include my recipe for french toast in case your curious 🙂

3 large eggs
a pinch of salt
1/2 tsp vanilla (sometimes I use a little more)
1 cup milk
lots of cinnamon
challah bread

I beat the eggs and pinch of salt with a fork and then add the vanilla.  I continue to stir as I add the milk and then I sprinkle in quite a bit of cinnamon and stir it up.  I just barely put my bread in this mixture (long enough for both sides to be covered with it but I definitely don’t let it sit there and soak in it).  Cook on a griddle and then we add powdered sugar and a little bit of agave nectar.  There is never a bite left on the kids plates.  I realize it isn’t the healthiest, but it’s definitely a treat I make on the weekends a couple of times a month.

** this weekend, I’m going to try putting sliced almonds on ours before I cook it to see what that adds to the taste!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 14:54:42

    mmm…this sounds good! I grew up eating french toast at least once a week, and I almost never make it. And I know why: it’s because we always have heavy-duty whole-grain bread in the house, and it does not make good french toast. I’ll pick up some challah next time I’m at TJ’s and give this a try!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

