The Most Delicious Pancakes Ever.

I got this recipe a long time ago here, and even though I haven’t read her blog for a long time, this recipe is here to stay in our house. The boys LOVE these and eat a ton when I make them, and because they’re so loaded with goodness I don’t care!

Here’s what you need:

2 cups pancake mix (I always use some kind of buttermilk complete mix)
1/2 cup ground flaxseed meal
1/3 cup almond butter (I get this at Trader Joe’s; much cheaper than anywhere else)
1 1/2 cups of water
1 egg
1 banana (overripe is fine)
1/4 cup of honey
1/3 cup of yogurt (she calls for plain; I always use Dannon Natural Vanilla)
Cinnamon

It’s easiest to throw everything in the blender if you have a gigantic one, but I don’t, so I mix everything together in my regular-sized blender EXCEPT the pancake mix. When it’s all pureed together, pour it into a big batter bowl, and add the pancake mix and stir or whisk it in. You want this to be kind of thin batter, because they take a while to cook if not.

Cook them on a griddle on 300-325 degrees or over medium heat on the stove.

They’re sweet enough to eat without syrup, but that will never fly at our house, so syrup it is. They also freeze really well for a quick weekday breakfast!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kirksonya
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 12:50:16

    Just curious – have you tried using agave nectar in this instead of the honey? We rarely have honey in the house so I’m just wondering if this would work…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

