Italian Beef IV

OK, so last week Sonya and I posted various recipes for Italian Beef that we like, and I’m finally getting around to posting this version that I made from a couple of different recipes that I had.

Tiffany posted this version of French Dip at her site, and I had it over at Kelli‘s house one day. And it’s delicious as well. So I started to wonder what it might be like to combine some aspects of a couple of different versions, figuring that I couldn’t really go wrong.

Here’s what I did:

3 lb roast
1 packet of Italian dressing mix
1 bottle of beer
1 can beef broth
1 can Campbell’s French Onion soup (I pour this through a mesh strainer, and then squish it down, and throw out the little bit that’s left…I don’t like the texture of the onions in this canned soup, but I do love the flavor)
Just a couple of pepperoncinis (not enough to make it spicy at all)
2 large cloves crushed garlic
fresh ground black pepper
water

Put it all in the crockpot (water to at least 3/4 of the way up the roast) and cook for several hours on low, until the meat is easily pulled apart with forks.

Serve on crusty bread, soft sub buns, whatever, but make sure you have cheese! And little cups for dipping in the au jus.

We all loved this, and the boys ate it up and repeatedly made Beef and Cheese (see 1:01) comments. Yay!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tiffany
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 14:07:00

    OH! That sounds so tasty! Kelli made Italian Beef one time when I was over too and it was amazing. I’m printing this now so I can make it one night. Mmmmmm!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

