Chicken Stock

I’m hooked. Not only am I hooked on rotisserie chicken, I’m now hooked on making my own chicken stock. It’s just so unbelievably easy and tastes so much better that what’s in a can or from bouillon (though, there certainly is still a place for those!).

Here’s how I do it, following tips from my neighbor, Ann, and this Alton Brown recipe:

1 chicken carcass – we don’t eat a lot of the dark meat, so I pick all of the white meat and the thigh meat off the bone, and pretty much leave the legs/wings. I have less guilt about not using the entire chicken by making stock out of what’s left!
several carrots, cut into large chunks
several stalks of celery, cut into large chunks
2 whole cloves garlic, peeled
1 large onion, quartered
several whole peppercorns
1 bay leaf
thyme, parsley (fresh if you have it; a few shakes from a container if not)
Cold water

Put it all in a stock pot, fill with water (leave some room at the top or your stove will be a disaster), and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer, and cook it for a long time – Alton says 6-8 hours, I probably do about 4. And I cover it after the initial boil. Alton says to skim the stuff off the top, but I haven’t been doing that (please don’t tell him).

When it’s done cooking, let it cool so that you won’t burn yourself in the next step.

Using tongs, pull out all of the large pieces and throw them away. After cooking for so long, the vegetables aren’t really good to eat anymore. Then, using a mesh strainer, pour the broth through to remove any solids (this is much, much easier with two people – enlist the help of your beloved).

Then, refrigerate overnight. This allows the fat to rise to the top, and then you can skim it off the next day before using it or freezing it in ziploc bags (I freeze it in 2-cup increments since that’s about what comes in a can of broth).

When you use it, you’ll need to add salt, because there is none in the recipe, but that way you can just add what you need for the recipe you’re making.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nana Jo
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 16:18:57

    My hat’s off to you; this sounds very “pioneer woman”! You know I’ll never do this in a million years, but I’m sure it makes everything delish!!

    Reply

  2. Jamie
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 12:16:30

    I’m making this today! It’s simmering (with the lid on) right now. I’ve never done it before, but I bought a rotisserie chicken for dinner the other night and thought of this post, so I’m giving it a try. Thanks for being an inspiration šŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Tracy
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 09:53:53

    You use the carcass of a rotisserie chicken?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

