Italian Beef II

Ok, I hope you don’t mind Nic, but I liked this idea.  Thought I would add my ways as well 🙂

I basically do the same as Nicole’s I Italian beef recipe, but here are my changes!

I don’t add any kind of beef broth.  I do add a full jar with juice of pepporicini’s, but I add them already DICED in the jar.  I can’t eat them whole, but LOVE LOVE them in the sandwich DICED like they are.  I only find them this way at Kroger (for those of you not in St. Louis) and in St. Louis I find them DICED from Dieberg’s (couldn’t find them at Schnuck’s and haven’t been to a shop n save yet).  Can you tell DICED is the key?  🙂

I also add a can of petite cut diced tomatoes with the juice.  Now for those of you that aren’t huge tomato fans (Nana Jo – I remember you aren’t from another recipe of mine 🙂 the tomatoes almost melt while they cook all day with the roast, juices, and pepperocinis.  So, you don’t even see any tomatoes when it’s finished, but it gives it a great flavor!  I also add the seasonings Nicole mentioned and then shred it when it’s finished cooking.  Yum!  Nicole – you bringing this up makes me want to have this SOON!

Nic – hope you don’t mind me adding to the list!  This will be fun to see all the variations!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nana Jo
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 15:28:23

    I didn’t even know what pepperocinis were–I just googled them! I’m going to have to try this crock pot method. I’ve always done it w/ 2 steps: (1) roasting the rump roast and then (2) after it’s cooled a little, slicing it & then layering it in a baking pan w/ layers of sliced green peppers, Italian seasoning, onion, parm cheese and baking.

    Sonya, I can’t believe you remembered that I don’t like excess tomatoes in anything. (This is odd cause I do like fresh tomato in sandwiches, etc.! Just not crazy about hunks in anything baked.) Anyway, I can totally understand how the crockpot cooking would kinda “melt” the tomatoes & would give good flavor!

    Reply

  2. Nicole
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 15:31:20

    Sonya, I love that you’re joining in! I’m going to have to try the tomatoes variation as I’ve never done that.

    And can I just say how sad I am that we don’t have Kroger here (or even in Effingham anymore)? I’ve never even noticed the diced pepperoncinis, but I’ll have to try them next time!

    Reply

  3. Nana Jo
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 15:59:07

    Forgot to mention that when I do the 2nd step of baking the sliced/layered beef, I fill the baking dish w/ the saved juice from roasting the roast–and add enough beef broth or just water to bring the juice level about 2/3 up the side of the dish.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

