Italian Beef I

As time allows, I’m going to post a few different versions of crockpot Italian Beef/French Dip that we make and love around here.

First up is my friend Karen‘s Italian Beef…I remember being so impressed when she served this for lunch one day when just Matt and I were visiting her family on our way to Chicago for a weekend away from baby Luke. And then she shared how awesomely easy it was to make, and I was totally hooked. For the next several years, this was the only way I made it. It’s simple and delicious, and the pepperoncinis give it a bit of a kick. Enjoy!!

2-4 lb. roast (really anything will do: I use bottom round or rump most of the time, I think. Whatever’s on sale.)
2 cans beef broth (or 4 cups made from bouillon or stock)
1 jar of pepperoncini peppers
Garlic in some form: garlic salt, 2 crushed cloves or 2 cubes of Dorot frozen garlic
Black pepper

Put everything in the crockpot for several hours on low (I usually use all of the juice from the peppers, but only throw in a few actual peppers since we don’t eat them with our sandwiches). Cook until the beef is easily pulled apart. Shred all of the meat. Serve on rolls with a slice of swiss or provolone cheese.

Leftovers are great in vegetable soup! I even save all of the broth we don’t use and use it as a base for the vegetable soup the next time we make it.

Also – if you refrigerate the meat separate from the broth, you can skim some fat off the broth.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nana Jo
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 12:48:36

    So then you serve it shredded, rather than sliced, right? I’ve never made it any other way than “my” way; might have to try this!

    Reply

    • Nicole
      Jan 13, 2011 @ 13:12:00

      Yep! I amended the recipe above…thanks. I just pull out the whole roast and put it on a cutting board, and pull it apart with two forks.

      Reply

  2. sara t
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 13:46:09

    I never had Italian Beef (that i remember) until I started dating Jason and his mom makes one KICK A$$ Italian Beef! One trick I got from her. If you have a frozen roast – which we always do (we buy a 1/2 a beef at a time) I put it in the crock pot the night before I go to bed on low with broth/garlic/ and some italian seasoning – let it cook all night – then in the morning pull it apart and add the rest of good spices/peppers and let it cook another few hours – it seems to give it more flavor in my opinion and it makes mine rip apart easier – which is what I always had trouble with before. (SOrry for the long commentary) 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

