Confession

This is kind of embarrassing since I like to cook so much, but up until last fall, I had never bought a rotisserie chicken. Or a whole chicken at all for that matter. The carcass was just too much for me to be able to get past.

And I don’t know what possessed me to actually try it for the first time, but I fell in love. With the value, the simplicity, and the delicious, amazing, perfectly-cooked chicken. I’ll never be the same. 🙂

Typically, when I buy one, I pull all of the meat off the bone, and while I’m sure I don’t pick it as clean as I should, I think I’m doing a pretty good job. We usually eat a good amount of the white meat for dinner with a vegetable and bread or other side, and then I freeze the dark meat and any leftover white meat to use it later. I’ve then used it in soup or chicken and noodles or quesadillas (Matt’s even pulled out a single serving to make lunch).

But I’d love more ideas! What do you do with rotisserie chicken, aside from just serving it plain?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 18:44:17

    I love this recipe…and in a pinch I’ve used a rotisserie chicken.

    http://www.pillsbury.com/recipes/beale-street-chicken-braid/a2861fbf-3424-4a50-add7-a9cc174373c7/

    Let’s see what else do I do w/ a rotisserie chicken…….I’ve cut it up and mixed it w/ Pesto and Pasta….I’ve added it to rice…..I like just eatting it w/ Frank’s hot sauce :)…..I do alot with them. By the time I get home for work, add homework and laundry to the mix….rotisserie chicken is often my healthy way of making a meal 🙂

    Reply

  2. Ann Parker
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 18:46:47

    I always simmer the carcass with some carrots and celery and make broth to use later. I usually freeze it to use at a later date.

    I also use the white meat to make a chunky chicken salad.

    Reply

    • Nicole
      Jan 06, 2011 @ 19:07:19

      Ahhh!! I almost did this tonight but realized I had no celery. But I’m glad to hear that this is what you do with it, because it seemed like a waste to throw it away!

      Reply

  3. Jamie
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 18:50:57

    i buy one nearly every week in the summer and make chicken salad with the white meat. so easy and so good! jastin usually takes the left over dark meat to work for lunch or adali eats it for lunch…i hate dark meat bleck.

    Reply

  4. Ann Parker
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 19:19:38

    If you’d like some celery, come on over, I have some you can use.

    I realize that my message was a bit redundant. I obviously can’t clean the kitchen, play Clue and leave a blog message all at the same time.

    Reply

  5. lisa
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 19:54:01

    I use that kind of chicken when I make BBQ chicken quesadillas. I chop up the meat and mix it with my favorite BBQ sauce. I put it on top of a tortilla and sprinkle on cheddar cheese. I put another tortilla on top and grill or brown in a skillet. Yummy!

    Reply

  6. Jennifer Jones
    Jan 08, 2011 @ 13:58:04

    I have used the leftover chicken in chicken pot pie, chicken ranch wraps, chicken tetrazzini, and chicken salad. I also throw it on top of a green salad for lunch. Rotisserie chickens rock!

    Reply

  7. Erica
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 22:44:09

    I made this white chicken chili for tonight. I made it in the crockpot. The recipe calls for “chopped cooked chicken” and I bought a rotisserie at the grocery store this morning and used that meat.
    The kids weren’t crazy about it (read: “Ryan if you don’t eat that there will be no dessert” type threats), but we had our small group over and the adults gave it good reviews.

    http://www.recipe.com/white-chicken-chili/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

