New Twists on Old Favorites

The other night I made a new pork chops dish that I wasn’t sure would go over big with the boys (and I was wrong, thankfully…they loved it! I’ll post it soon). I wanted to make a side dish that I thought would get eaten, but didn’t really have anything in mind, and I was running out of time.

Being that necessity is the mother of invention…

I cooked up the rest of a box of orzo pasta, drained it, and added some butter, some grated parmesan (I would have shredded some if I’d had time), a little garlic salt and some black pepper. It was really good – the older two boys gobbled theirs right up! We called it garlic bread pasta because, well, it tasted like garlic bread. Quick, easy, and eaten – hooray!

—-

Our new favorite grilled cheese sandwiches, which go well with soup or just about anything, are made like this:

Slices of some kind of good, white bakery bread
Slices of provolone cheese (or muenster would be good, too)
Butter
Garlic salt

Lightly butter the bread and lightly sprinkle with garlic salt.

Make a grilled cheese!

These are so amazingly delicious you won’t believe it. They are also really good cut up into small cubes and thrown INTO soup like croutons.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Babygirl
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 15:45:52

    Ohh I loveee grilled cheese with soup.. Makes me feel like a kid again

    Reply

  2. Nana Jo
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 16:01:06

    I’ll be waiting for the pork chops recipe–Ron & I both like chops.

    Until a few yrs ago when Gale made me such a delish grilled cheese sandwich, I had NEVER made one w/ anything other than plain ol’ slices of Amer cheese! I thought they were good (& still do). However, since then, I’ve made them w/ other kinds of cheeses & even sometimes add just a TINY bit of mustard to the butter. SO GOOD!! I’ll try the provolone!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

