THE Pumpkin Dessert

I’ve seen this recipe several places but never made it until last weekend. And it’s a keeper! It’s definitely NOT low-fat, so it’s a good one to make with lots of company so that there aren’t leftovers.

I found it here and will only make one tiny change next time I make it, and that’s just reducing the nuts in it.

15 oz. can pumpkin
1 can evaporated milk
3 eggs
1 c. sugar
4 t. Pampered Chef Cinnamon Plus (or 2 tsp. cinnamon and 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice)
1 yellow cake mix
3/4 c. butter, melted
1 1/2 c. chopped nuts (walnuts or pecans) – I used pecans, and I’ll use about a cup next time. 1 1/3 cups (what was in the bag) seemed like too much to me.

Preheat oven to 350. Combine first 5 ingredients. Pour in a greased 9×13 pan. Crumble yellow cake mix on top. Pour butter evenly over all. Sprinkle with nuts. Bake 1 hour. Serve with whipped topping.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nana Jo
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 08:57:17

    Forgot how much I love this. There were some years when we (my sisters/families) had this instead of p-pie. (Our recipe uses a can of the Pumpkin Pie Mix instead of regular pumpkin & a couple minor differences.) I haven’t made it for years; you’ve put me in the mood!

    Reply

  2. kirksonya
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 09:29:28

    I may be trying this for Thanksgiving. Looks yummy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

