Cuban Black Beans and Rice

YUM! This is a great meatless meal (though Matt *did* mention that it seemed more like a side dish, which it would be fine as, as well) that I will definitely be making again. The recipe halves very easily.

From Real Simple, with my small changes.

1 cup long-grain white rice (I used jasmine)
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 onion, chopped
1 bell pepper, chopped
1 jalapeno, chopped (I only used this because we had some from our neighbor’s garden; it would be fine without it)
2 cloves garlic, chopped (I just ran them through the press)
kosher salt and black pepper
1 teaspoon ground cumin
2 15.5-ounce cans black beans, rinsed
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
1/4 cup fresh cilantro (BUMMER! I forgot to put this on top of it tonight!)

Cook the rice according to the package directions (I cooked the rice in chicken broth).

Meanwhile, heat the oil in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Add the onion, pepper, garlic, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and ¼ teaspoon pepper and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, 5 to 7 minutes. Stir in the cumin and cook for 1 minute.

Add the beans, oregano, and 1 cup water. Simmer, covered, for 10 minutes.

Add the vinegar. Smash some of the beans with the back of a fork to thicken. Serve over the rice. Top with cilantro, if you remember that it’s in your fridge.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 06:05:17

    This recipe reminds me of the recipe I’m making this week (probably weekend) except that it has quinoa where the rice is. And since I know you like quinoa, I thought I’d pass it along.

    http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Quinoa-and-Black-Beans/Detail.aspx

    Reply

  2. Nicole
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 07:33:44

    thanks! I’ve made this one before, actually! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

