Empanadas

Tiffany posted a link to this recipe over at She Cooks! a couple of weeks ago, and I knew we had to try it. I’m a fan of anything baked into bread.

I’ve been wanting to try PW’s Pinto/Refried Beans recipe, also, and this was the perfect time. I’m embarrassed to admit that this is the first time I’ve ever used dried beans…I always buy canned! But these are soooo good. I’ll never go back. Unless I’m in a super-big hurry. Then maybe.

I made a second pound of the same dough with just turkey and provolone inside for the boys. They had to try the bean one, but then had the turkey ones to fill them up (I was feeling exceedingly nice…usually they just have to have what we’re having). We have enough leftovers for another meal and no one will be complaining!

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 package refrigerated pizza dough (about 1 pound) – If you have a Trader Joe’s nearby, I cannot say enough about how good their prepared dough is. And it costs a whopping 99 cents.
flour for the work surface
1 16-ounce can refried beans (or use the recipe above!!)
salsa
8 oz shredded Cheddar
sour cream (optional)

Heat oven to 400° F. Spread 1 teaspoon of the oil on a baking sheet. Divide the dough into 6 equal portions (CONFESSION: I divided it into 3 portions…much easier). Roll each into an 8-inch round on a lightly floured surface (or, after rolling out a bit, just stretch it with your hands)

On half of each round, spread some of the beans, then top with a little salsa and some shredded cheese. Fold over the other half of each round, covering the filling, and press the curved edge with your thumb to seal. Lightly brush the tops of the empanadas with the remaining oil, then transfer to the baking sheet.

Bake for 12 to 15 minutes or until golden. Serve with a dollop of sour cream, if desired.

Leave a Reply

