Breakfast Casserole II

I think Sonya’s already posted a breakfast casserole, but I just realized that I haven’t posted mine! This one comes from Matt’s mom, and it’s easy and delicious!

I often make 2/3 of a recipe instead of a whole one so that we don’t have quite so much in leftovers. I bake that in a 9×9 instead of the 9×13 and it works perfectly.

**Helpful hint: This can be made the night before you intend to bake it and just refrigerated overnight. I think it’s better that way. If I make it for dinner, I usually put it together by mid-afternoon so it has some time to set.

12 slices of WHITE sandwich bread. Don’t use anything else. I’ve tried this with whole-grain wheat and it’s not very good.
crumbled bacon, sausage or diced ham
shredded cheddar or any other kind of cheese you like or a combo (maybe 8 oz or so)
6 eggs
3 cups milk
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp dry mustard
butter
crushed plain potato chips (if they’re flavored, the stuff on them will burn, so don’t use those!)

Grease 9×13 pan. Whisk eggs, milk, salt and dry mustard.

Put a layer of bread on the bottom of the pan. Cover with as much meat and cheese as you want! Add another layer of bread and pour the egg over the top.

Now, the original recipe calls for a stick of butter to be dotted on the top, but I just can’t bring myself to use that much. For a 9×9 I probably use 3 Tbl, and half a stick for a full pan.

Before baking, crush chips over top of all (don’t do this step if you’re refrigerating it the night before until it’s time to bake).

Bake at 350 for 60-70 minutes. Let it sit 10 minutes before serving.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Nana Jo
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 19:27:49

    This is the 1st breakfast casserole I ever had/made, and it’s still my favorite! So darned simple. I agree w/ you on the amount of butter for on top–I never use that much; I use about what you said. Also, sometimes I’ve melted that butter & just drizzled it over the top.

    I’ve made this for supper many times too. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

