Butternut Squash Bake

When my brother Zach and his wife, Michon, recommend a recipe, we have to try it…they both love to cook and make some goooood food! They’d both talked about how good this was, so we had it tonight with dinner, and Matt and I thought it was delicious. The kids, not so much, but that’s ok!

1 (4 lb) butternut squash, peeled, seeded, & cubed (pretty small, bite-sized pieces) (also, helpful tutorial here for peeling/cutting squash)
1/3 yellow onion, minced
1-2 cloves garlic
1/4 c. extra-virgin olive oil
3/4 c. Italian bread crumbs, divided
1 tbsp. minced fresh thyme (I have used 1 tsp of dried before)
6 oz. crumbled blue cheese or feta (I use feta b/c I don’t love blue cheese)
sea salt and ground black pepper to taste

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

2. Toss the squash, onion, garlic, olive oil, 1/2 cup of the Italian bread crumbs, thyme, and blue cheese in a large mixing bowl. Season with salt and pepper. Pour the mixture into a large baking dish (I use 9×13 or 9×9 if using only a 2 lb squash). Sprinkle remaining bread crumbs over the squash.

3. Bake in the preheated oven until lightly browned on top, 35 to 40 minutes.

I halved the recipe and used a 2-lb squash and I’d say it made 4 adult servings.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 20:59:37

    Thank you! We love the taste of butternut squash! And thanks for the link to that tutorial. The last time I made something with butternut squash I was afraid I was going to need a machete to get it all cut up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

