Who Knew? You Can Make Brownies From Scratch.

I’ll admit that I’ve never taken the time to make a not-from-the-box pan of brownies before yesterday. Why, I’ll never know (maybe because my mom didn’t? Which is crazy because she preferred nearly everything from scratch. Weird.). With about 10 extra minutes and measuring out a few more ingredients, you can have from scratch brownies that are waaaay better than from the box!

I just used the recipe on the back of the can of cocoa for chewy brownies. Here it is on the Nestle website, but I’ve written it out for you here, too!

1 2/3 cup sugar
3/4 cup softened butter
2 T water
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
1 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup cocoa
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup chopped nuts (optional – I didn’t use b/c my kids don’t like them)
I threw in a big handful of chocolate chips, too

Preheat oven to 350, and grease a 9×13 pan.
Stir together sugar, butter and water in large bowl; stir in eggs and vanilla. Combine flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt; stir into sugar mixture. Stir in nuts/chocolate chips.
Spread into pan.
Bake for 18-25 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out slightly sticky (it took about 25 minutes in my oven). Cool in pan.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 18:31:40

    That does seem easy! Sounds really good too!!!!!! Gooey brownies sound really good right now!

    Reply

  2. tiffanynevil
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 21:10:28

    Brownies from scratch are so heavenly! My Mom bought me the Hershey’s Chocolate cookbook years ago for Christmas and it has something like 20 different recipes for brownies. They are all pretty easy and so heavenly! I’ve made these before and love ’em!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

