Caramelized Onion Flatbread

Ok, I’ve been so anxious to try this for a while now because of my obsession with caramelized onions, but didn’t know where to get fresh pizza dough. Then, lo and behold, I was shopping at Trader Joe’s yesterday, and there it was: for 99 cents!!

I had a major issue with the dough sticking to the pan. I greased it even though the recipe didn’t say to, and it still stuck like crazy. However, the part we could eat was really, really good! I was muy impressed with the dough, too…great flavor. I’ll be getting more to make pizzas with the boys.

So next time, I’m going to try this on the pizza stone and see if it does better.

1 large sweet onion, sliced
3 tablespoons olive oil, divided (I used closer to 2)
1 pound bakery pizza dough
1 1/4 teaspoons kosher salt
1 teaspoon chopped fresh rosemary (we didn’t have any b/c I forgot to get it at the store, but I’m sure that this would really be good!)

Preheat oven to 425°. Sauté onion in 1/2-1 Tbsp hot oil over medium-high heat 15 minutes or until golden brown.

Press dough into a 15- x 10-inch jelly-roll pan (heavily grease it!), pressing to about 1/4-inch thickness. Press handle of a wooden spoon into dough to make indentations at 1-inch intervals; drizzle with remaining 2 Tbsp. oil (1 if you’re like me), and sprinkle with salt, rosemary, and caramelized onions.

Bake at 425° on lowest oven rack 20 minutes or until lightly browned.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 06:33:55

    I was going to suggest a pizza stone (I have one that is really a jelly roll pan made out of the stone material) dusted with some cornmeal first.

    I’ve heard about the TJ pizza dough time after time and I always forget to grab some when I go there.

    Reply

  2. Erika Kleine
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 07:58:07

    I can’t wait to make this with gluten free bread. Sounds Yummy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

