Chipotle’s Guacamole

This is like a dream come true for me. And why I didn’t think to try and replicate it at home before last night is beyond me.

I am in.love. with Chipotle. Really, their burritos are amazing, but it’s the guacamole that Matt and I can’t get enough of. And I’ve been thinking that I could probably make it at home, since it’s fairly obvious what the ingredients are, but I googled it last night and found the recipe. I made a couple of minor quantity changes, which I’ll note here, but here’s where I got the recipe. There are other versions online, but to me, this seems the closest.

2 large or 3 small Hass Avocados
1/2 of a jalapeno pepper, seeded, and minced
1/4 cup red onion, finely chopped
1 Tablespoon of Cilantro, finely chopped
Juice of half a lime
salt to taste

Mash the avocados; stir in the rest of the ingredients. Adjust as needed. You can leave the jalapeno seeds in to make it hotter, or use the whole jalapeno seeded for a stronger pepper taste. Start with these quantities and add onion and cilantro to your liking. Then pig out. Prepare to just eat this for dinner.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 15:17:58

    Your recipe calls for 1/4 cup of onion but the original recipe seems to call for 1/4 of an onion (which would be substantially more and would vary greatly depending on the size of the onion).

    Is that one of the changes you made?

    Reply

    • Nicole
      Jun 27, 2010 @ 15:24:52

      it is…i had a big red onion (and i think they usually are pretty big) and matt isn’t a huge fan of raw onion, so i started out with just about that much, and we found that it was enough to make it taste like chipotle! it’s so much easier to add a little more onion than to mash another avocado if you’ve overdone it 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

