PW’s Chicken Pineapple Quesadillas

When I saw The Pioneer Woman’s recipe for this, I KNEW we had to try it and soon. It did not disappoint (for Matt and me, at least…the kids were underwhelmed by grilled pineapple, which I LOVE, and they chose to take their chicken off the quesadilla and eat it separately from the rest. Fine by me.). Here’s a link to her recipe, which I’ve copied here along with any small changes I made in italics.

8 whole Flour Tortillas
Butter Or Margarine
2 cups Grilled Pineapple, Sliced
3 whole Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts
Salt And Pepper, to taste
3 cups Monterey Jack Cheese, Grated
1 whole Jalapeno, Sliced
Cilantro
3 Tablespoons Barbecue Sauce

(Click over to PW’s website for a quick picture tutorial on grilling pineapple! To grill pineapple: cut wedges, stick on skewers, and grill over low heat. Cut into slices.)

(To pound chicken, place inside a Ziploc bag and pound with a mallet or large can to flatten to uniform thickness.)

Sprinkle chicken with salt and pepper and Cajun spice (or cumin/cayenne, etc.) Drizzle olive oil on a grill pan and grill on both sides until done, brushing with barbecue sauce. Set aside and slice into very thin slices. I actually had Matt grill the pineapple and chicken on our grill.

Warm griddle over medium heat and put sizzling butter or margarine in the pan. Slightly warm and toast tortillas on both sides, then remove from griddle and set aside. Because PW loves butter so much, I assumed you needed a lot of butter to make the tortillas cook correctly. Wrong! You really can just melt a very small amount in the pan, swirl the tortilla around on it, and brown it. The one that had a ton of butter ended up being thrown away; it was too greasy.

To assemble, sprinkle four browned tortillas with grated Monterey Jack. Arrange chicken slices evenly over the surface. Add pineapple slices and jalapeno slices. Sprinkle on cilantro. If desired, drizzle extra barbecue sauce over the top. Add second browned tortilla on top of each one. (You’ll have four complete quesadillas at this point.)

Add to oven to warm, or back to skillet to warm, until cheese is melted. Cut each quesadilla into six wedges. Serve with sour cream, pico de gallo, and lime wedges. I just served with sour cream.

I loved these A LOT. I might or might not use bbq sauce again; I like it fine, but I actually think that this would be even better if you just seasoned the chicken more heavily.

PW’s pictures are much better than mine, but here’s what it looked like before I put the tops on the quesadillas and put them in the oven:

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. illinigirl
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 17:50:53

    Mmmmm. . . makes me hungry!

    Also, please note that I SADLY just added this to my google reader. . . Yes, I’m a loser. . . I kept forgetting!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

