Simple Strawberry Shortcake

Stay with me; this is an unconventional way to eat strawberry shortcake (at least it was new to me a couple of years ago when my MIL first made it for me!). It’s quick and easy and sooo delicious. A perfect summertime dessert!

The first thing I do is cut up strawberries and sprinkle them with a little sugar (I probably used less than a tablespoon or so for a small bowl full of cut-up strawberries). Stick those in the fridge to sit until you need them…if you give them a couple of hours, they’ll get really juicy.

Then, you make a Bisquick Shortcake. I never use Bisquick except in this recipe! So if you have a suggestion for what to do with the rest of the box (besides make more shortcake) let me know.

2 1/3 c Bisquick (I use the Heart Healthy Mix)
1/2 c milk
3 T sugar
3 T melted butter

Heat oven to 425. Mix up dough, and form into 6 biscuits on a cookie sheet (make them kind of flat, because you want the middle to get baked). Bake 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.

The only other ingredient you need is half and half (I always use fat-free). Are you wondering where the whipped cream is? I was too the first time I tried this.

But here’s what you do: put a piece of shortcake in a bowl, cover it with strawberries, and then pour half and half over the top like you would milk on cereal.

Prepare to want seconds.

For a more traditional Strawberry Shortcake, look here.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sara t
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 14:43:01

    You don’t use bisquick? How do you make pancakes? I also use it for cheedar biscuits (think red lobster) and they have a good pizza or italian bake reciepe on the box.

    (I don’t like strawberries – surprise surprise i know – but thought I would share my bisquick ideas)

    Reply

    • Nicole
      Apr 28, 2010 @ 21:10:21

      Sara, SHOCKED that you don’t eat strawberries:)

      I use regular ol’ pancake mix, but I usually mix them up with other stuff. I’ll post our favorite pancake recipe here soon!

      Thanks for the biscuit idea! The boys would love those, I’m sure.

      Reply

  2. heather
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 16:17:41

    Oh yum… I’m gonna try this tonight! I like the idea of Strawberry Shortcake (the berries and the biscuit) , but I don’t really like Whipped Cream (and without it it’s kinda dry!) so this sounds PERFECT!!

    I use Bisquick to make the dumplings in chicken and dumplings… just add some water and parsley, mix it up and dollop it in little lumps on top of your simmering chicken soup/ stew, cover and let it steam to make moist yummy biscuits! I use Rachael Rays 30 min recipe for ours and it’s a favorite!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

