Salsa Chicken Soup

I tried this tonight for the first time and it was delicious!  My husband mentioned multiple times how good it was.  It’s so quick and easy to put together, too!  Two out of three children ate it also, and that’s always a plus!

1/2 pound boneless skinless chicken breasts, cubed (I used more like 3/4 pound)
1 can (14 1/2 oz) chicken broth
1 3/4 cups water
1-2 tsp chili powder (I used just a little over 1 and it was spicy enough for us, but I also used medium salsa)
1 cup frozen corn
1 cup salsa

shredded monterey jack cheese or pepper jack cheese, optional (I used a mexican 4 cheese blend cause that’s what I had extra of here)

In a large saucepan, combine chicken, broth, water, and chili powder.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 5 minutes.  Add corn; return to a boil.  Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered for 5 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink and corn is tender.  Add salsa and heat through.  Garnish with cheese.

**Next time I make this, I will be adding more corn.  It wasn’t enough for me.  I will also probably add some extra diced tomatoes because the only ones in there were from the salsa.  We will definitely be making this again!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 07:04:04

    this sounds good! and the kids will eat parts of it, so we’ll give it a try!

    Reply

  2. Heidi
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 21:26:19

    made this tonight, and it was quite tasty! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

