Corn Bread Deep Dish Pizza

Kelli sent this recipe to me, and I made it last night for dinner. Very rarely does something get eaten without a “how many bites do I have to have?” from Luke or Bennett, and they both gobbled up large portions! Matt and I loved it, too, and I’m honestly not dreading the leftovers for tonight’s dinner (I generally don’t like leftovers).

I’ll post it how I made it, since I made a few small changes.

1 (8 1/2-ounce) box Jiffy brand corn-muffin mix (I used Betty Crocker and it worked fine)
1 large egg
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup grated Parmesan
TOPPING:
1 tablespoon vegetable oil (I didn’t use b/c I didn’t have any onion)
1 large onion, chopped (omitted)
1 garlic clove, chopped (I used a Dorot frozen garlic cube)
1 (26-ounce) jar of your favorite pasta sauce (Ragu Traditional for us!)
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
Salt and pepper to taste
1 pound sausage of your choice, cooked and crumbled or sliced
1/2 pound Monterey Jack, shredded (I used Colby Jack, but mozzarella or any Italian blend would be fine too)
I added:
1/2 cup carrot puree
several large, sliced mushrooms to half of the casserole

Heat the oven to 375 degrees. Grease a 9×13″ baking dish. Prepare the muffin mix using the egg and 1/2 cup of milk. (Note: this amount of milk is different from what’s called for in the package directions.) Add the Parmesan, then spread the batter evenly across the bottom of the pan.

Heat the oil in a large skillet, then sauté the onion and garlic until translucent, about 2 minutes. Add the pasta sauce, (pureed carrot), oregano, and salt and pepper. Cook the sauce until it thickens, about 5 minutes, stirring frequently.

Arrange half of the cooked sausage (or sausage and mushrooms) on the cornmeal batter. Pour the sauce over the batter, spreading it evenly, then layer on the remaining sausage. Bake for 15 minutes, then top the mixture with cheese and bake until the cheese is bubbling, about 10 minutes. Cut into slices and serve. Makes 6 servings.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kellimcgill
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 12:38:42

    Yay! I am so glad you liked it. For some reason I always get nervous when sharing recipes with people. In my mind if they don’t like it, it reveals to them that I’m a poor cook with low expectations. 🙂

    Reply

  2. kirksonya
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 12:52:16

    Sounds yummy! Can’t wait to try it!

    Reply

  3. Nana Jo
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 23:45:20

    It was delicious!! Especially since I’m at your house and YOU made it! 🙂 I’ll definitely make this at home.

    Reply

  4. Staci Byers
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 20:29:23

    We tried this tonight and it was really good. I loved the sweet crust. I didn’t follow the directions to a T, as I was slightly distracted by 3 little boys. I put the cheese on before baking it the first 15 minutes, and immediately realized I messed up. Still turned out great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

