Ravioli Veggie Soup

I was blessed with this recipe from my wonderful friend, Sarah.  I love that it is a no meat recipe.  I don’t have a ton of those, and this is a nice change every once in a while.  There are a lot of estimates in this recipe, but I tried hard to keep track of everything last night so that I could give a little more detail to this recipe 🙂  Two out of three kids ate at least parts of the soup….I call that success!

Start with about 4-4 1/2 cups of water in a big pot.

Cut up carrots, celery, and onions.  Add those to the pot.  Amounts depend on what you want.  I do about two big handfuls of each.

Boil this until carrots are soft.

Add a can of petite cut diced tomatoes and a 15oz can of tomato sauce.

Add in 2-3 bay leaves.  Remember to take these out when finished before eating!

Add in a can of corn, drained, and a can of green beans, drained.

Add in a couple big handfuls of frozen peas.  (This is the ONLY way I will eat peas.  Not a fan of them, but they are good here!)

I then taste the base of this soup and usually add in a couple teaspoons of sugar for what we like.  You can also add in tomato paste/more tomatoes for the flavoring.

The best part?  Little cheese ravioli from trader joe’s!  You’ll find them in the dry pasta section – not refrigerated.  I usually add about half the bag to the pot.  Let those cook for about 16 minutes.

You can also add a can of kidney beans, drained and rinsed.  This is optional.  Sometimes I add them, sometimes I don’t.  Depends on the mood!  🙂  Definitely add these at the very end, though.

I sprinkle shredded parmesan on top and serve with bread.  Enjoy!

** This is a great meal to make when you are having a couple people over as it makes a LOT.  I’ve also made this when I need to make a meal for someone else.  It definitely makes enough to give to another family for dinner and still have enough for ourselves to eat!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 21:18:27

    YUM! This sounds good. And the boys will eat parts of it, so we can make this work for dinner.

    I haven’t had those TJ’s raviolis but will pick them up next I’m there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

