Chicken Parmesan Pizza

This is a relatively quick weeknight dinner that I’m not kidding, BOTH of my older boys ate without any hesitation. And they ate it all!! Now, it’s not super-healthy, but eating this every once in a while won’t hurt. Plus, serving something that I know will get eaten without complaint boosts my ego.

It’s from one of my newest sources for great recipes: Southern Living.

1 (10-oz.) package frozen garlic bread loaf (I used a 16 oz. package of Cole’s garlic bread, and when I opened up the loaf, I used a knife to scrape off most of the garlic spread stuff…there was still plenty of flavor, but it had to cut the fat by a lot)
1/2 cup pizza sauce
6 deli fried chicken strips (I baked some from the freezer before assembling the pizza – I’ve been using the Tyson breaded but uncooked chicken strips – all natural, and in a 3-lb bag at Sam’s Club)
1 cup (4 oz.) shredded Italian three-cheese blend
2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil (didn’t have this, so I just skipped)

Preheat oven to 400°. Arrange garlic bread, buttered sides up, on a baking sheet.

Bake at 400° for 8 to 9 minutes or until bread is lightly browned. Spread pizza sauce over garlic bread.

Cut chicken strips into 1/2-inch pieces, and arrange over pizza sauce. Sprinkle with cheese and basil.

Bake at 400° for 5-8 minutes or until cheese melts. Serve immediately.

+++++

It’s pizza week chez Diehl. Up next: Pizza Rolls.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. heather
    Feb 09, 2010 @ 10:21:51

    How funny… I JUST posted a new chicken pizza recipe on my blog this morning too! We loved it! You should definitely throw it into your pizza menu this week!!

    http://ourowngongshow.blogspot.com/2010/02/garlic-ranch-chicken-pizza.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

