Bean and Bacon Soup

I’ve had this recipe for years and never tried it. But, last week I was frying up some bacon to make quiche for dinner, and wanted to use the rest in something else, so I thought of this soup. It has a can of Ranch Beans in it, and I had no idea what they were until I opened the can, but it turns out they’re just pintos in some slightly spicy tomato-y sauce. However, there is also some other kind of fatty preservative in there that I’d rather not eat, so next time I make this I’m going to try to just use a can of pinto beans and season it myself. I’ll post the details here if it turns out!

Anyway, this is so easy, and hearty and perfect for the middle of winter. it would have been great with cornbread if I would have had the time to make it! This only makes 3 servings (if you’re using it for a whole meal).

1 can Ranch beans
1 (8 oz.) can tomato sauce
2 cups chicken broth
1/4 cup finely chopped onion (I actually had to saute onion for the other recipe, so I just sauteed the portion for this recipe, too, and it was really good!)
6 slices of bacon, fried and crumbled

Combine first four ingredients in a pan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes.

If you want a thicker soup, carefully mash some of the beans.

Top with bacon and serve!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Jan 20, 2010 @ 18:35:33

    I tried this tonight. It was really good. I …tend to skim over directions…then when I start to make it think to myself…what this isn’t right….so I of course, I didn’t follow the simple 4 step directions!!!!!!! But I started to saute the onions – threw in the bacon – threw in the rest of the ingredients after the bacon was done – I doubled the recipe – So I used 1 can of the Ranch beans and blended up 1 can of Pinto beans. I took a spoonful and it is great! Corn bread is in the oven…then it is dinner 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

