Caramel Apple Pie

I made this for our Christmas dinner this year.  I’ve only made it one other time so it was a much requested item for Christmas.  My mother-n-law actually said, “I really think this is the best apple pie I have ever had.”  Maybe you’ll like it too!

2 large jonathan apples
2 large fuji apples
1 granny smith apple

Filling:

1/2 cup sugar
3 tablespoons flour
1 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp salt
1 unbaked pie crust

Topping:

1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup oats
1/2 cup flour
1 stick butter
caramel ice cream topping

Dice the apples.  Yes, I said dice.  We prefer them this way versus just slicing them really thin.  Mix together the apples, sugar, 3 T flour, cinnamon, and salt.  Pour into an unbaked pie crust.

Combine brown sugar, oats, 1/2 cup of flour, and butter.  Mix until crumbly.  Sprinkle the coarse crumbs onto the pie filling.

Line the top edge of the pie crust with foil and bake at 400 for 25 – 30 minutes (25 for me).  Remove the foil and bake an additional 30 minutes.  Drizzle the caramel topping over the top of the pie while it’s still warm (but not too hot or it will just pour off onto aluminum foil that you placed under the pie, not that that’s happened to me or anything!).

*Both times I have made this, the top of the pie started to burn (I think from the crumbly butter).  We didn’t seem to notice because of all the caramel.  BUT, the next time I make this, I’m going to put the oven rack as low as it will go and hope that will help.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Jarrett
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 01:00:00

    The apple pie sound wonderful. You might try covering it with foil if it gets too done on top too fast. That will let the rest of it get cooked all the way and not burn the top! Can’t wait to try it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

