Jalapeno Hummus

Matt and I were fortunate enough to attend the Illini/Mizzou basketball game on December 23rd…actually, it was unfortunate because Illinois was AWFUL and we lost. BUT: Matt and I sat in a suite and I ate my weight in crostini and roasted red pepper hummus. Which made it all okay.

When the Christmas festivities settled down, I had to find a suitable recipe, and decided to go with a Jalapeno version for my first try. This is great as a dip for vegetables or chips or pretzels of any kind, a spread for sandwiches, or spread on a bit of crostini or any crusty bakery bread. It is spicy, though! But it’s healthy and relatively low in fat, so a great alternative to dairy-based dips. I’ll post more hummus recipes as we try and like them!

I did buy some really good Roasted Red Pepper from Trader Joe’s and had the kids try it, and none of them liked it (Jack Henry wouldn’t even touch it, which is no surprise). However, I will try again with milder flavors because I think there’s a chance this could work!

1 cup garbanzo beans (also known as chickpeas)
3 Tbl tahini
2 Tbl lemon juice
3 cloves garlic, pressed or minced
1/3 cup canned/jarred jalapenos plus a little juice (NOTE: I would recommend starting out with about a 1/4 cup and adding more if you want it spicier…it’s pretty hot)
1/2 tsp ground cumin
crushed red pepper flakes to taste
salt to taste

Put everything in your blender or food processor and blend until smooth. You might need a few drops of water or some of the juice from the jalapenos (if you want it hotter) to make it smooth enough.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 22:37:52

    Roasted red pepper hummus is probably the kind I make the most.

    I’d not thought to make a jalapeno hummus but if I do I’d have to make a very small batch. Bill is the biggest consumer of hummus in this house and that would be way too hot for him. Even the smoky chipotle hummus had to be pretty tame or he’d not have eaten it.

    Another kind that he really likes is made with sun-dried tomatoes and fresh spinach and I substitute lime juice for the lemon juice in that one.

    Reply

  2. Jan
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 22:47:10

    Looking at the link I see you omitted the curry powder. Personal preference?

    Reply

  3. tiffanynevil
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 00:28:50

    Sounds SO good! Can’t wait to try it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

