Baked Potato Soup

Oh, how I love potato soup.  I REALLY love Bread Co’s baked potato soup and have always had my eye out for a recipe that comes close to that soup.  This one does!  This doesn’t make a ton, enough for Kirk and I to have leftovers one night.  So, if it’s a big family, you’ll want to double it.

3 bacon strips, cooked and crumbled (next time I’m making more as I heart bacon)
1 small onion, chopped
1 garlic clove, minced (I used the jar kind, already minced)
3 tablespoons flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp dried basil
1/2 tsp pepper
3 cups chicken broth
2 large potatoes, baked, peeled and cubed (about 2 cups)
1 cup half-and-half cream
1/2 tsp hot pepper sauce
shredded cheddar cheese

In a large saucepan, cook bacon until crisp.  Drain, reserving 1 tablespoon drippings.  Set bacon aside.  Saute onion and garlic in the drippings until tender.  Stir in flour, salt, basil, and pepper.  Gradually add broth.  Bring to boil; boil and stir for 2 minutes.  Add the potatoes, cream and hot pepper sauce; heat through but do not boil.  Garnish with bacon and cheese.

I also serve this with bread.  Yum.  Love it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole
    Nov 30, 2009 @ 16:22:11

    I, too, love potato soup, but rarely find a recipe worth making again, so I can’t wait to try this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

