Chocolate Mint-Chip Cookies

This is a twist on an old recipe of my mom’s. I LOVE Andes mints, so I was thrilled to see the chopped up version in a bag in the baking aisle a few weeks ago! My mom’s recipe was to make these into chocolate peanut butter chip cookies, and you certainly can still do that by using 2 cups of Reeses Peanut Butter Chips instead of the mint chips.

1 cup softened butter
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
2 cups flour
2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 tsp baking soda
1 – 1 1/2 cups Andes chopped mints

Beat first four ingredients until light and fluffy (this step makes me love my Kitchenaid). Add the next four ingredients and mix until completely blended. Stir in the baking chips/mints.

Chill until firm. Roll into 1″ balls. Flatten slightly with a fork. Bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes.

Don’t be tempted to make them any bigger – they bake up perfectly at this size! I baked mine for about 9 minutes and then let them cool on the pan (I don’t usually do this, but it worked out better for these). It made about 4 1/2-5 dozen, when you count the two I’ve already eaten + the dough I probably consumed.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kellimcgill
    Nov 25, 2009 @ 12:40:49

    Elle would LOVE these. I may add this to our Advent activities next month 🙂 THANKS

    Reply

  2. Jan
    Nov 25, 2009 @ 13:26:28

    So does this mean you haven’t started doing that food journaling yet? 🙂

    Reply

  3. Heather S.
    Dec 03, 2009 @ 07:05:56

    My mom has a similar recipe, but she bakes them without the Andes mints. As soon as they are done baking, she puts a mint wafer on top, lets it melt, spreads it around and puts some sprinkles on each.

    I LOVE anything chocolate and mint so they are favorites of mint! I can’t ever find the mint wafers, though, so I may have to try your recipe!

    Reply

  4. Nana Jo
    Dec 05, 2009 @ 00:57:39

    I already said this to Nicole, but for everyone else–these taste like Girl Scout Thin Mints, only better b/c they’re soft & chewy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

