Spaghetti Sauce

I once commented to my friend, Heather, after making homemade spaghetti sauce for the first time that it wasn’t worth all the effort, and I was returning to bottle sauce. She replied that I needed her recipe!

And she was right!

This sauce is loaded with vegetables, and while it is a bit time-consuming to make, it is not at all difficult and it makes a lot, so you’ll have an extra meal or two to put away in the freezer. My kids eat this without a complaint, and I often don’t serve an additional vegetable with this because I just want them to eat the sauce!

Here is Heather’s recipe, with the couple of additions I’ve made to it:

1 lb lean ground beef (if you don’t eat beef, ground chicken or turkey will work fine in this)
1 medium-sized onion, chopped finely
3-4 cloves garlic, chopped finely or crushed
a handful of baby carrots, chopped finely (I think Heather uses whole carrots and shreds them)
1/2-1 zucchini, shredded (I use a whole zucchini or close to it)
OPTIONAL: fresh mushrooms, as many as you like, chopped finely (I know that Heather uses canned mushrooms, but I have a serious aversion to those, so I use fresh)
OPTIONAL: yellow, red or green pepper shredded (I don’t usually use this, but I think it would be good!)

Put all of this in a stock pot and cook until the beef is browned (chop the beef up while cooking so it’s in really small pieces). Drain well.

Add to the pot:
28 oz diced tomatoes (1 large or 2 regular-sized cans) – I run these through the food processor to take away the chunks, as my kids wouldn’t eat this if it was chunky
8 oz tomato sauce
12 oz tomato paste
1 cube beef boullion dissolved in 1/2 cup water or red wine (Heather uses a full cup in hers)
2 T fresh parsley (1 T should do if using dried)
1/2 T brown sugar (Heather uses a whole T; we prefers ours a little less sweet)
1 tsp Italian seasoning
salt and pepper to taste

After you’ve added all the ingredients, simmer for about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Keep the lid on because it may pop!

I freeze this into portions that our family will eat for dinner, and this time I also kept out a larger portion (probably 3-3.5 cups) and made lasagne with it and it was delicious!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: WFMW: Meal Swap! « Here’s the Diehl

Leave a Reply

