Sometimes, You Have to Kiss a Lot of Frogs

Meaning that I thought I’d be posting a recipe today for some lovely, delicious pumpkin cream cheese cupcakes.

But they were neither lovely nor delicious.

So. I’ve got nothing.

PS…Before today, I don’t know if I’ve ever baked something and immediately thrown it in the trash because it was so bad.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy Flach
    Nov 05, 2009 @ 19:06:13

    I’ve done this once…..your pumpkin cookie recipe. I made it a month or so ago…..at my mom’s house. Then I tried it 2 weeks ago at home…..AND THEY WERE HORRIBLE!!! They looked like biscuts. I have no idea what I did! I loved them the first time….I don’t know if there is a difference in the ovens…I’m sure there is but I even tried throughout the batch to go up and down in temp and time….but they.were.bad. So they ended up in the trash.

    Reply

    • Jan
      Nov 05, 2009 @ 22:19:52

      Do you have any idea what went wrong? I’m always interested in the analysis of bad recipes.

      Reply

      • Nicole
        Nov 06, 2009 @ 07:00:37

        Well, the cream cheese was definitely too soft when I baked them, so that attributed to the horrible appearance and the fact that the cream cheese didn’t stay put in the middle of the cupcake. But the texture of the cupcake was, I think, the fault of the recipe. It was a spice cake from a box, and you added pumpkin and a box of pudding mix to the mixture, and it just produced a horrible spongy texture. Awful.

      • Nicole
        Nov 06, 2009 @ 07:01:06

        Bummer! Did you by any chance use a different kind of oatmeal?

      • Sandy Flach
        Nov 07, 2009 @ 09:37:56

        I’m not sure….I’ll check that out….I’m pretty sure I used Quakers Quick Oats.

Leave a Reply

