Vegetarian White Bean Soup with Quinoa

I saw a recipe for White Bean Chili with Jalapeno Bulgur in Real Simple and thought it would be something that Matt and I would like, and I had nearly all the ingredients at home, so I decided to give it a try. When I told Matt that I’d found a recipe I thought he’d like (really, what doesn’t he like? God gave me the easiest man on the planet to cook for!) and that it was a meatless chili, he replied that he thought it would be tasteless. That sounded like a challenge to me. GAME ON.

I didn’t have bulgur wheat (I know…crazy! Who DOESN’T have bulgur wheat on hand?), so I substituted quinoa for it, since I just needed a protein-packed grain. Plus, I know we like quinoa.

Quinoa: 3/4 cup of quinoa, 1 1/2 cups water and 1 chicken bouillon cube. Put in saucepan, bring to a boil, reduce to simmering and cook approximately 15 minutes until water is absorbed.
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice (er, the stuff in the bottle)
2 scallions, thinly sliced
1 jalapeno, seeded and chopped
2 tablespoons olive oil
kosher salt and black pepper
1 large onion, chopped
1 green bell pepper, chopped (I used 1/2 a green pepper and about a 1/4 of a red pepper since that’s what we had)
2 cloves garlic, chopped (I used Dorot frozen garlic…love this stuff for making soup! It’s found at Trader Joe’s.)
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder (from my neighbor, because I was out)
1 14.5-ounce can diced tomatoes
2 15-ounce cans cannellini beans, rinsed (well, I didn’t have these either. But I used great Northern beans and it was fine! They said so here, which I looked up b/c I didn’t know the difference between cannellinis and great northerns.)

Stir the lemon juice, scallions, jalapeño, 1 tablespoon of the oil, and ¼ teaspoon pepper into the cooked quinoa.

Meanwhile, heat the remaining tablespoon of oil in a large saucepan or small stockpot over medium-high heat. Add the onion and bell pepper and cook until tender, 6 to 8 minutes. Add the garlic, cumin, chili powder, 1 teaspoon salt, and ½ teaspoon pepper and cook until fragrant, 1 to 2 minutes.

Add the tomatoes and their liquid and 1½ cups water to the onion mixture; bring to a boil. Add the beans and simmer until slightly thickened, 8 to 10 minutes. Divide the chili among bowls and top with a couple of big scoops of the quinoa.

I’d say this makes 4-5 servings. And it was really good; even Matt said he’d be happy if I made this again. It’s hearty and so healthy, but I really wouldn’t call it chili, since it’s not near as thick as regular chili. Give it a try!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    Nov 03, 2009 @ 11:49:35

    I’m going to try this! I really do have all of this on hand almost all the time except for the quinoa (a word which I refuse to say in conversation because I’m just not confident that I would say it right…)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

