Crockpot Chicken Parma Rosa

I just tried Tiffany’s Parma Rosa chicken last week, and it was really good! I made it sans sundried tomatoes, since no one here is crazy about them (Matt and I will eat them, but the kids definitely won’t). This was the first time I’ve used the Knorr packet of Parma Rosa sauce mix, which, if you’re like me and unfamiliar with it, is just a creamy tomato sauce. When thinking back to my very early married days, I realized that Matt and I used to “make” this kind of pasta sometimes…since we ate a lot of pasta (what newly married couple doesn’t?) and usually used a jar of Alfredo sauce or a jar of Ragu to top it, I’d often mix the two together if there wasn’t enough of one to make dinner. Ta da! Parma Rosa!

Anyway.

All that to say that since even the kids ate the meal I made last week without complaint, I looked online for more recipes using the stuff. I found this one on RecipeZaar and made it today. Because my crockpot gets freakishly hot and really doesn’t so much have a low setting, this got done much quicker than I planned, thinking it’d be ready at dinnertime and it’s 3pm. But, I sampled the sauce and had a bite of chicken, and it’s good! Just making some whole-grain pasta tonight to serve this over, along with some leftover cornbread and some peas. Fingers crossed, the boys will eat this. It’s such an easy meal that even though it’s nothing earth-shatteringly good, it could become part of our regular rotation.

4 chicken breasts (I used a little over a pound)
8 ounces light sour cream
1 (10 ounce) can cream of chicken soup
1 (1 ounce) package parma rosa sauce mix (Knorr)
1/2-3/4 cup white wine (or you could use chicken broth or water, too)

Put everything except the chicken in the crockpot, and stir it together. Throw the chicken on top and cook on low for 6-8 hours (or 5 if your crock pot is anything like mine). Cut or shred the chicken, mix in with the sauce, and serve over any kind of pasta.

I read the reviews and many said they added things like sauteed onion and mushrooms to the sauce (Matt and I would like that but the kids wouldn’t), or served this over pasta and steamed broccoli, which I may do next time.

UPDATED TO ADD: we really liked it! Luke wasn’t a fan, even though he ate something very similar last week, but Bennett ate it well. I will definitely make it again!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tiffanynevil
    Oct 15, 2009 @ 16:31:18

    So glad you liked it! This sounds good too! I can’t wait to try it.

    Reply

  2. Jan
    Oct 15, 2009 @ 21:01:01

    This sounds really good! I’d be one of those people that add all that extra stuff because my family will eat nearly anything.

    I’m always fascinated when people say that they have a “regular rotation”. Do you really?

    Reply

    • Nicole
      Oct 15, 2009 @ 21:11:27

      ah, no, not like we repeat a schedule or anything, jan! i just mean that i’ll make it again when i remember to 🙂 that rotation thing freaks me out; much too regimented for me!

      Reply

  3. Angela Reinhart
    Oct 21, 2009 @ 15:42:57

    WOW….thank you for this recipe….we love both tomato and alfredo and I have NEVER combined them…..I will try this out!

    Angela

    Reply

  4. Jamie
    Nov 03, 2009 @ 09:14:52

    i made this yesterday and added some extra “stuff” i had in the pantry and it was delicious. i took your advice, nicole, and added a bit more wine (3/4 cup) as i am not a big fan of a really thick sauce and it was perfect.

    keep the recipes coming…i’m always looking for new ideas.

    Reply

  5. sara luke
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 08:12:17

    Whoops . . . I accidentally added a full cup of wine because my computer froze and I was finishing the recipe from memory. Hope it still turns out ok tonight!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

