Minnesota Wild Rice Soup

Welcome, WFMW participants! Hope you like this recipe…it’s one of my favorites.

Soup again for supper! This time, since it wasn’t spicy, I had the kids eat it, too. They are NOT fans of soup at all, but they did at least eat some bites of chicken out of the soup, so it wasn’t a total loss. Matt and I thought this was really good; it’d be especially delicious in a soup bowl from Bread Co!

This recipe came from a Dierbergs’ (local grocer) seasonal recipe book, and I made a few changes but they were minor, but I’ll write this up the way I made it (I can’t find the original online to link to). The changes I made cut the fat by 11 grams per serving and the calories by 90 per serving. And, it makes 6 servings, by the way.

This recipe calls for cooked chicken, so I just threw it on the Foreman grill last night with some Lawry’s sprinkled on it and chopped it up into small bite-sized pieces. Also, there is bacon in this, which automatically means that it’s good. It is kind of annoying to have to cook bacon for something like this to me, so next time I’ll make this soup, I’ll menu-plan accordingly so that I’ve already cooked bacon for a meal and then just have some extra crumbled up (since we don’t eat bacon often, this is a good two-birds-one-stone kinda thing).

Minnesota Wild Rice Soup
5 cups reduced-sodium chicken broth
1/2 cup wild rice (I used Reese brand)
1/2 cup sliced green onions (definitely use the whole amount)
6 Tbl. butter
1/3 cup flour
1/4 tsp poultry seasoning (I don’t have any, and frankly, I don’t know what it is. But if you have it, use it!)
1/8 tsp (or a little more) ground black pepper
2 cups FAT FREE half-and-half
2 cups cubed, cooked chicken or turkey (she also mentions that you can use ham, but we don’t like ham here, so that will never happen)
6 slices bacon, diced and cooked crisp (if you want to garnish your soup, save a couple of Tbl; if not, use it all when it’s time)
3 Tbl dry cooking sherry

In a large saucepan, combine broth, rice, and green onions. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer stirring occasionally until rice is tender, about 45 minutes.

With about 5-10 minutes to go on the rice mixture, melt butter over medium-high heat. Whisk in flour, poultry seasoning, and pepper; cook until mixture is smooth and bubbly, about 2 minutes (this only took about 45 seconds when I was making it). Whisk in half-and-half; cook stirring frequently until mixture thickens, about 5 minutes. Stir into rice mixture. Add meat and sherry; simmer until heated through. Season with freshly ground black pepper.

Ladle into bowls. If desired, drizzle additional sherry over soup (I didn’t); sprinkle reserved bacon and pimiento and fresh parsley over top (I didn’t do that either, but it would look nice if you had company or something.)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cari
    Oct 01, 2009 @ 08:41:47

    Sounds wonderful! This summer, when I was in Minnesota, I was able to bring back some wild rice harvested from the lake where we stayed. I used a packaged soup mix and it was okay, but I’m saving this recipe for next time!

    Reply

  2. Nichole
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 10:34:12

    I love wild rice soup. I’ve never served it in a bread bowl! That’s a great idea.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

